Skip to content
image-2

Phasing out coal in the Asia Pacific region is a critical step in the global transition towards renewable energy, and subnational governments play a crucial role in encouraging their national governments to make more ambitious commitments.

Chungcheongnam partners with PPCA for International Conference on Net Zero and Coal Phase-out in South Korea

Join the ‘Net Zero and Coal Phase-Out International Conference’ hosted by PPCA member and regional/provincial government Chungcheongnam in South Korea on 7 September to hear how key players in the region are driving the transition from coal to clean. 

Where: Chungnam, South Korea. A link will be provided here to join online closer to the date of the event. 

When: 7 September 2022  02:00 – 08:30 BST; 10:00 – 16:30 KST; 11:00 – 17:30 AEST; 21:00 – 03:30 EDT

Despite the ongoing energy security crisis, cutting 45 percent of global CO2 emissions by 2030 by ending the use of coal in power generation and achieving net zero by 2050 remains a crucial step if the world is to keep to 1.5C warming. Following the pledge to phase down coal made by 197 countries at the UN climate conference COP26, this one-day conference features several thematic sessions aimed at sharing experience and expertise with governments and organisations looking to accelerate their coal phase out efforts.  

The high-level event will welcome subnational governments from across the Asia Pacific region including India,  Japan, China, Australia and South Korea as well as from the USA. 

The programme includes discussions on: 

  • Coal Phase Out and Sustainable Development 
  • The Age of Climate Crisis and our Role 
  • Announcement of New Membership of PPCA 
  • Accelerating Carbon Neutrality Sessions 

Remarks will be delivered by a number of speakers, including*: 

  • Steve Gilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change 
  • Alok Sharma, Chairman of COP26  
  • H.E. Catherine Stewart, Climate Change Ambassador of Canada, 
  • Ki-moon Ban, 8th Secretary General of UN 
  • Shogo Ara, Governor of Nara Prefecture 
  • Daisaku Kadokawa, Mayor of Kyoto Prefecture of Japan  
  • Pil-young Lee, Vice Governor of Chungnam 
  • Gareth Weir, Deputy Head of Mission of the United Kingdom to Korea
  • Wang Zhonglin, Governor of Hubei Province of China  

*List of speakers and attendees subject to change depending on availability.  

Related news

wind_turbines_
Events
Subnationals, Private Finance, Just Transition

Powering Past Coal COP26 Events

PPCA events at the London Climate Action Week
Events
Just Transition, Private Finance, Subnationals

PPCA events at the London Climate Action Week